We’ve had a number of enquiries from people who have received an email from Blackboard with the subject Blackboard profile inactivity.
The body of the email reads:
You are receiving this email because you have not used your Blackboard profile in almost a year! If you do not access your profile by doing one of the following it will be permanently deleted in 30 days:
- Log into your school’s Blackboard site and visit your profile.
- If you no longer have access to your school’s Blackboard site, create a free account on CourseSites and use this email address when setting up your profile. You will be given the option to connect your CourseSites Blackboard profile to this one.
If you do not want your profile to be saved, you can ignore this email. This will only affect your Blackboard Cloud Profile. Any Blackboard accounts at your institution that are still active will not be affected. Please refer to the help page for more information about Blackboard Cloud Profiles.
These emails are not spam, though they might appear that way, and Blackboard has not been hacked. Please don’t panic if you get one of these emails. It just means that you haven’t accessed your social profile on Blackboard within the past year. It does not mean that you are locked out of Blackboard.
You can choose to completely ignore and delete the email, without any affect to your Blackboard account.
If you’d like to access your social profile (just to see what it’s all about), see more about profiles in the short video below, or visit the Blackboard help pages.